• Get sarkari naukari

Railway Recruitment 2020 : All about railway jobs- Get sarkari Naukari

Updated: Aug 3, 2020

Railway Recruitment in various department

Railway Recruitment Board is a largest employer in India provides thousands of jobs every year. In this section will summarize all the details of Indian Railways.

All over India there are 17 zones and 71 divisions (under those 17 zones) in Indian Railways. 17th zone is setup as an independent zone in 2010. Each division is managed by Divisional Railway Manager (DRM).

The 17 zones and their headquarters are

  • 1. Central Railway (CR) – Mumbai

  • 2. East Central Railway (ECR) – Hajipur

  • 3. East Coast Railway (ECoR) – Bhubaneswar

  • 4. Eastern Railway (ER) – Kolkata

  • 5. North Central Railway (NCR) – Allahabad

  • 6. North Eastern Railway (NER) – Gorakhpur

  • 7. North Western Railway (NWR) – Jaipur

  • 8. Northeast Frontier Railway (NFR) – Guwahati

  • 9. Northern Railway Railway (NR) – Delhi

  • 10. South Central Railway (SCR) – Secunderabad

  • 11. South East Central Railway (SECR) – Bilaspur

  • 12. South Eastern Railway (SER) – Kolkata

  • 13. South Western Railway (SWR) – Hubli

  • 14. Southern Railway (SR) – Chennai

  • 15. West Central Railway (WCR) – Jabalpur

  • 16. Western Railway (WR) – Mumbai

  • 17. Metro Railway, Kolkata – Kolkata

There are four types of group level jobs. They are Group A and Group B (Gazetted) and Group C and D (Non-gazetted).

Each of these groups will have both technical and non-technical cadre.

1. Group A Posts Recruitment: Union Public Service Commision ( UPSC ) does the recruitment for this category by conducting a written exam, interview/group discussion as necessary.

Exams conducted for this category : Civil Service Exam, Engineering Service Exam, and Combined Medical Service Examination.

Through the civil services exam, the following services are included:

  • a. Indian Railway Accounts Service

  • b. Indian Railway Traffic Service

  • c. Indian Railway Personnel Service

  • d. Railway Protection Force (RPF)

Through the Combined Engineering Services Exam, the following services are included.

  • a.Indian Railway Stores Service

  • b.Indian Railway Service of Engineers

  • c.Railway service of Signal Engineers

  • d.Indian Railway Service of Mechanical Engineers

  • e.Indian Railway Service of Electrical Engineers

2. Group B Posts Recruitment:There is no direct recruitment for Group B posts. Group C employees are promoted as Group B officers.

3. Group C Posts Recruitment:The Group C posts both technical and non technical recruitment are conducted by 19 Railway Recruitment Boards (RRBs) across all zones in Indian Railways.

Non Technical Posts: Some of the Non-Technical posts are Assistant Station Masters, Trains Clerks, Clerks, Ticket Collectors, Commercial Apprentice, Traffic Apprentice and others.

Technical Posts: Technical engineers in Signal, Telecommunication, Civil, Mechanical, Electrical and others.

4. Group D Posts Recruitment:The Group D recruitment is done by Railway Recruitment Cell (RRC) at the divisional level. Some of posts in this group are the gunman, Safaiwala, Trackman, peon, tracker and others.

Introduction of IRMS ( Indian Railway Management Services ) 2020 :

UPSC IRMS To Roll-out Without Indian Railway Protection Force Service (IRPFS)

The Government has decided to withdraw the railway posts from Engineering Services Examination (ESE) and Civil Services Examination (CSE) after the introduction of Indian Railway Management Services (IRMS). The government has decided to give exception only to the post of Indian Railway Protection Force Service (IRPFS) under Group 'A' .Service.Minister of Railways Piyush Goyal has shared the information regarding IRMS in Lok Sabha on March 4, 2020, after a question was put up by Kunwar Danish Ali. Mr Ali has also questioned whether the vacancies under the ESE and CSE 2020 will be cancelled or not. The Railways Minister replied that the Government had decided to withdraw all the services related to Railways under ESE 2020 and CSE 2020 except Indian Railway protection Forest Services (IRPFS).

The central recruiting agency, Union Public Service Commission (USPC), will be conducting the Indian Railway Management Service (IRMS) for various posts. Aspirants who are aiming for Indian Railway Management Service (IRMS) have to appear for the Preliminary examination just like other competitive exams conducted by UPSC. They can specify their preference in the second stage of the selection process. The preferences comprise of five specialities - four engineering specialities (Civil, Mechanical, Telecom and Electrical) and one non-technical speciality, which will focus on accounts, personnel and traffic.

Currently, UPSC is recruiting candidates for Indian Railways through two examinations such as Civil Services Examination (CSE) and Combined Engineering Services.

CSE Group A Services

  • Indian Railway Traffic Service

  • Indian Railway Accounts Service

  • Indian Railway Personnel Service

  • Indian Railway Protection Force Service (Post of Assistant Security Commissioner)

Combined Engineering Services

  • Indian Railway Service of Engineers

  • Indian Railway Stores Service (Civil, Mechanical, Electrical, Telecommunication/Electronics Engineering Posts)

  • Indian Railway Service of Mechanical Engineers

  • Indian Railway Service of Electrical Engineers

  • Indian Railway Service of Signal Engineers

There will be a new restructured Railway Board where there will be one CRB/CEO and four members. A person for CEO post will be considered only from the officers of Indian Railways.

147 views0 comments

Subscribe Form

  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr
  • LinkedIn

©2020 all copywrite are reserved by Get sarkari naukari.